The Adventures of Isys Drain

The Adventures of Isys Drain

So today is Sallah! Unlike every other meat muncher though, I woke up hungry but excited.
Yes, having an ulcer ridden tummy can do that to a person.
Anyway, the excitement was due to the return of Anita ,our neighbourhood puppy but that is a story for another day!

This adventure is about the Meet and Greet with Dike Chukwumerije by Madmo and Blossom Nnodim.
Bear in mind, I almost dodged attending this event and didn’t even know it was the event I going to till I got there, talk about being clueless, LOL!

At first I was shy ,making conversation with my phone my favourite distraction and then people came over to say hi and I started to loosen up. Meeting Blossom made it clear why I was there but by then I was already hooked.
The event was simple but stimulating, spare yet so full. Isn’t it obvious, I’m writing on a wave of euphoria here… lol.

Thought Pyramid in Wuse2 was the perfect venue and I met very interesting people, that had me captivated from the first word. We started with introductions, each person an artist or enthusiast in their own right.
Dike Chukwumerije, our spoken word celebrity, Frank Idemudia Apala, Toyin Bassey, Blossom Nnodim, Madmo and host of others.

It was a rush! The aim; how to bring poetry and spoken word to the forefront.
Quote :Poetry is like an orphan, yet it’s the first born! ‎

Nigerians are at a place where they are tired of what they’ve heard and are willing to listen to what is being said, so now is the time for Spoken Word.

To say I had fun would be an understatement. It was sublime and I had the pleasure of meeting Dike Chukwumerije.

Sallah was great but this Adventure will last a lifetime.

Coming soon : Meet Dike Chukwumerije

Leave a Reply

