Features

My 2015 series: Ms Chiefe

Ms Chiefe has quite away with words, I loved this entry and I’m sure you will too…

MY 2015: CHIEFE UDOKA

When Isys asked me to contribute My 2015 I actually felt that she and God had colluded to make me put finger to keyboard and strategize about my near future.
Every year most people the world over realize one thing – it’s another end to another year in their lives. For some of these people, the year hasn’t been the best they’ve had. For others, a.k.a me, it’s been absolutely amazing! Not because everything I ever dreamed about 2015 came true – in fact, most of my goals didn’t even come near realization. But because in hindsight, being here now is an opportunity to be grateful for everything that’s happened and the wonderful lessons I’ve learned. I believe in gratitude, even in the bleakest of times. Besides, the more grateful you are, the more you open yourself up to life’s providence. Trust me, it happens.
Anyway…

Because I once read from a reliable source that having too many goals is actually detrimental to the outcome of goal setting, I’ve decided to list 16 things I think YOU should know about 2015 and 2016.
Achievements (2015)
Living in Lagos for a year – on purpose
No, I didn’t hate myself, I loved the challenge. At least I did at the time. Besides, the Nigerian Law School in Lagos is reputed to be “The Best” in Nigeria and I felt my odds of passing the Bar would be greatly increased. I was not wrong. Proof? People call me “Barrister” now… Besides, being in the heart of Victoria Island wasn’t bad either.
The main downside to that was the steady dose of antibiotics that came with sharing a toilet with over 400 other ladies during lectures, but I’ve definitely learned a lesson in the female anatomy and law.
Becoming a Barrister
I finally got called to the Nigerian Bar this year! And as much as I tolerate and enjoy being called Barrister and asked what drink I’m serving at the Bar by all and strangers, I know now that the end of the study of law is possible. One can’t almost believe it by looking at all the work, years of study and stress devoted to a profession that most will not practice fully.

To Forgive is Divine
I made the decision to forgive someone who I used to be repulsed by. For 3 years I held a grudge until time and distance made me realize that drinking cyanide and hoping the other person dies in the worse, most agonizingly ugly pain possible is wishful thinking. When I realized that I no longer felt any negative feelings except pity, I knew I had to take the first step to make things right. I called. We talked. And I moved on.

I’m dating a Great Guy
And he lives in Abuja! Apparently intelligent, caring and funny guys with ambition who want to settle down for the right reasons exist in the FCT. And he’s not threatened by an independently thinking young lady…slap me, somebody!

No Exams will Ever Be as Scary as the Bar Exams
After what the typical law student goes through in Law School, there’s no exam that scares me anymore. Ask anyone who’s passed the Bar. Not even the GMAT with its math questions or even ICSAN with its financial analysis can scare me now. As small as this achievement might seem, I know now that eliminating what could have been a lifetime of fear is over. The only issues are the time and money to study and pay for the exams.

Major Learning Points in 2015:
Absence Makes the Heart (and Hearth) Grow Fonder
Leaving home for a year to attend law school made me appreciate my family and friends back home in Abuja. I had to learn to think of life without some very important people around. While I’m thankful for the friends I gained in Lagos, I’m also thankful for those I didn’t lose in Abuja. And for those I did lose, Thank God.
Trusting God and Working Works
Faith without work is bullshit. Enough said.
Meditation
….
Women’s Plumbing is Complicated
The day I realized blood could come out of a lady’s urethra is the day I knew that toilet issues don’t start and end with thrush. Good hygiene and really strong antibiotics are crucial for ladies in “overcrowded” situations. This means toilets, rooms and every other thing you can come up with.
Walking Out on an Idiot (or Two) is sometimes the Best Policy
Men can be great. Men can be annoying. And I’m sure the feeling is mutual. I learned never to let myself be “managed” by anyone who has to compartmentalize me in their lives. A growing up moment for me, then and there.

My Goals – The 2016 Edition
Begin a Masters program by September 2016
Whatever I decide to do here is up to me. A masters in international or criminal law (or both), an MBA or whatever I choose will define everything else I do from here on out. Can’t wait!
Make a profit of N2,000,000.00 by December 2016
This is obviously from someone who’s just out of school. Sounds a bit over the top, but it’s definitely possible. Having a solid savings plan and discipline to do this helps a lot, though.
Having a productive service year
The way the NYSC works, most young graduates get lost during the service year and have no foundation to stand on after. My career plan does not involve sitting at home doing nothing after youth service.
Start a SDG project that actually benefits the community
I may have lost out on all NYSC awards since I redeployed from Bauchi to Abuja for my service year, but I don’t have to be an award winner to be a Change maker. For this, I’d love to work with someone with a plan and a passion for actionable change.
Handle a court case from start to finish by December 20th 2016
Imagine, standing in court prosecuting or defending a brief from the beginning to end in full legal costume (Believe me, the wig and gown IS a costume).
Get the Victoria Secret Model Body by April 4th 2016
This would be check marked by the presence of 6 packs abs, a great bum and killer legs. I’ve already got the foundation so this shouldn’t take long. Then again, it could take never.

Leave a Reply

