Features

My 2016 :Imaan 

The year 2016 has been both good and bad to me. I’ve made amazing memories and I’ve gone through things that I’d never even wish for my worst enemy. As I get older, I find myself reflecting on life a lot. The teenage me found that it almost felt like deja vu,  year after year. However,  that perception has completely changed.


 The year 2016 will definitely be a very memorable year because of the lessons I’ve learnt. Through good and bad experiences,I’ve been able to build my character in a more positive light. I started the year on a very low note and I’m glad to say that it will definitely end on a great one, hopefully… 

As I was asked to write about my 2016,  I kept thinking to myself ‘what I had achieved. That’s when the anxiety started to kick in. I had realised that I kept procrastinating about some of my goals, like writing this article for one *covers face*. 

Despite not being able to tackle this issue,  I can’t say that I haven’t met any goal at all. That’s a good thing right? Either way I can list a few highlights such as: 

  1. I lost almost 8kg!! Yes my New Years resolution was to be healthier and be able to walk up stairs without feeling like my chest was on fire. The funny thing about this goal is that I didn’t exactly pay too much attention to it. It was almost like I re-wired my mind to automatically consider it as a priority. I guess because the mindset was already there, it was easier to get up and exercise or pick the healthier option for a meal. A healthy lifestyle has now become a way of life and not a duty. 
  2. One of my goals for this year was to travel more. Although I wasn’t able to travel as much as I would have liked, I did have the opportunity of going to Orlando,  Florida. The best part about that trip was definitely going to Universal studios and watching all my potter-head dreams come to life. Walking through Diagon Alley, eating at The Leaky Cauldron, drinking Butter Beer (which tastes even better than I imagined!), entering Gringotts Bank and seeing those creepy looking goblins was absolutely amazing. I honestly  can not  describe how mesmerising it was to be there. I could go on and on about it, however you would need to go,  to fully understand what the experience felt like . 
  3. Towards the end of last year, I began to realise how the creative side of my brain was not exercised enough. It deeply saddened me,  knowing how creative I used to be. I sat down and had a little chat with myself about how to change this. As 2016 started to creep in,  I decided that I would launch my blog that I had been tip toeing around for years. I’m glad to say that,  despite my perfectionism and doubt in my ability, I was able to step out of my comfort zone and take the leap of faith. I’m not always consistent with my content, however I create content as often as I can.
  4. Mental health and self love is something I’m learning about everyday. My awareness of these key issues have increased significantly this year. It has helped me improve on my personality, my relationship with God, and also with my family and friends. This achievement is something I hope to improve on and hopefully implement for the rest of my life. 
  5. This is the year I started my National Youth Service. I don’t even want to get started on my experience. The first day of camp was HELL. The Nigerian government really really really need to work on the facilities in the camp. Let’s just leave it as that. Overall though,  I’d say it was quite a humbling experience. There are definitely some benefits to it. Hopefully,  the government finds the best way to implement the concept. 

All in all,  it has definitely been a year full of ups and downs. I have learnt so much, and reflected even more. I don’t know if it’s just me growing up but I have thought about so much that,  I think my head may explode at some point. The most important thing is,  that I’ve pushed through and made it out alive. I am forever grateful for the kind words and support that I have received from both friends and family. Apart from the negative aspects, I hope to have many more years as joyous as this one. And I hope tackle next years goals with more enthusiasm. 

Leave a Reply

